Contact Us
- Ask a Question
- Make an Appointment
- 1-800-846-4085
- library@ollusa.edu
- 210-441-3197
- @OLLUlibrary
- Sueltenfuss Library
Theses and Dissertations
Dissertations and theses are scholarly works written in support of an academic degree (typically masters or doctorate). It often contains the author's original research. Here are some resources for finding dissertations and theses.
Theses and dissertations written by OLLU students are available online in full text here:
Dissertations and Theses at Our Lady of the Lake University
- Dissertations and Theses Global Full Text This link opens in a new windowDissertations and Theses Global Full Text This link opens in a new window OLLU Resource
This database is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world. Subjects include business, health, history, literature, science, social sciences, and the arts. - WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new windowWorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window OLLU Resource
WorldCat Discovery is a powerful new way to search the WorldCat.org database and find articles and titles from OLLU as well as from libraries worldwide in a single search.
- Texas Digital Library DSpace RepositoryDSpace is a digital service that collects, preserves, and distributes digital material. Repositories are important tools for preserving an organization's legacy; they facilitate digital preservation and scholarly communication.
Access Notes
Please keep in mind a few things about theses and dissertations:
Dissertations are considered unpublished materials. They are not published by commercial publishers but rather are only available at the institutions where they are written.
While a growing amount of dissertations are available in full text online (via university digital collection), not all dissertations are available for free online.
Because dissertations are not published and copies are not widely available, borrowing dissertations through Interlibrary Loan (while possible) has a higher percentage of being unfilled than published items.
Because dissertations are not commercially published, some libraries tend to keep their copies non-circulating (library use only).
If you are unable to get the dissertation online or through Interlibrary Loan, the last resort is to purchase it through ProQuest Dissertation Express.
