Contact Us
- Ask a Question
- Make an Appointment
- 1-800-846-4085
- library@ollusa.edu
- 210-441-3197
- @OLLUlibrary
- Sueltenfuss Library
Online Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database is designed specifically for academic institutions. It is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 5,500 scholarly periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 9,500 journals in the collection.
- SocINDEX with Full-Text This link opens in a new windowThis database contains full text articles, books, author profiles, and conference papers about sociology. Topics include abortion, criminology, demography, gender studies, political sociology, social development, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis database contains an interdisciplinary archive of scholarly academic publications that includes journals, manuscripts, and pamphlets. Users have access to the Arts and Sciences I and III Collections, along with the Life Sciences Collection. Topics range from economics, sociology, mathematics, political science, language and literature, biological, health, and general science journals.
- Fuente Academica Premier This link opens in a new windowFuente Academica Premier is a rapidly growing collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain, covering all major subject areas and designed to make academic research readily accessible in PDF format. Fuente Académica Premier offers the full text for more than 650 publications and 30 academic books from 18 countries. Fuente Académica Premier covers all major subject areas with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar allows users to search across multiple resources in one search engine. It contains scholarly information from books, journals, reviewed papers, scholarly organizations and repositories, academic publishers and much more.
Print Indexes
Available in the OLLU Reference Area
- Chicano periodical index byCall Number: Ref Z1361.M4 C47
Using Databases
Scholarly literature on the topic of the Chicano Movement is growing, however much more scholarship is needed. There are many aspects of the movement that are yet to be discovered. Below are a listing of online library databases, free online databases and print indexes you should use for your research. A good researcher will utilize them all in order to "cover all the bases". You will be looking for scholarly articles, magazine and newspaper articles, conference papers, primary documents, oral histories and dissertations. You should never worry aboout whether something is in full text online. The most important piece of information you will need is the citation (i.e. name of article, name of journal, author, page number, volume, year, issn, etc.). Once you have the citation and it is not available online, you can find the item in area libraries or you can request the item thorugh the OLLU Library's Interlibrary Loan Service.
For researching the Chicano Movement in South Texas, The Texas Observer is a periodical worth examining. Indexes to the Texas Observer as well as microifiche to the Texas Observer can be found at the Blume Library, St. Mary's University:
The Texas observer index, 1954-1970, & The Texas Observer index, 1971-1981 / compiled by Susan Reid and Robert Sindermann, Jr.
