Law and Legal Research Starter

Ways to settle your traffic ticket in San Antonio Municipal Court.

"CODE OF ORDINANCES, City of SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS
Codified through Ordinance No. 2012-05-31-0393, enacted May 31, 2012.
(Supp. No. 99, update 1)

The listing below includes all legislation received by Municipal Code since the last update (printed or electronic) to the Code of Ordinances. This legislation has been enacted, but has not yet been codified."

"This site contains City Council Meeting Minutes which have been approved by City Council. Therefore, the most recent City Council Meeting Minutes may not appear until officially approved. For information on City Council Meeting Minutes, or other matters related to this web site, contact the Office of the City Clerk at (210) 207-7253."

"The Office of the City Clerk Archives Program is located at the Municipal Archives & Records Facility. The Archives Program began in 2005 in partnership with the San Antonio Public Library’s Texana/Genealogy department and the San Antonio Public Library Foundation. The program aims to appropriately house, organize, and make available for research the history of the City of San Antonio."

The Webpage for the government of the City of San Antonio.

The homepage for the San Antonio Police Department Website.

Legislative Reference Library of Texas posts the Texas law timeline, Online sources for researching current Texas laws, Texas historical legal sources online.

Links to Current Issues, Legislation, Legislators and Leaders, Sessions, Committees, and other Texas links.

The homepage for the Bexar County Website with links to:
COMMISSIONERS COURT, CONSTABLES, COUNTY CLERK, COUNTY COURT, DISTRICT ATTORNEY, DISTRICT CLERK, DISTRICT COURTS, JUSTICES OF THE PEACE, PROBATE COURTS, SHERIFF'S OFFICE, TAX ASSESSOR-COLLECTOR and COUNTY DEPARTMENTS & DIVISIONS, AGENCIES & ORGANIZATIONS, ONLINE INQUIRIES & SERVICES, and COUNTY RESOURCES.

"The Dispute Resolution Center´s goal is to serve the community as a resource for resolving disputes of all kinds."

District Clerk eServices including eFILING through texas.gov, "DCFaxEXPRESS "Documents on Demand" Bexar County residents can request and receive copies by fax (or mail) of legal documents...This service is a great convenience for those individuals needing copies of divorce decrees, orders and pleadings and similar documents but have no time or means to visit the courthouse."
Also are Civil Litigant Search Online and DC FAX FILING links.

Links for resources about divisions, inmates, resources, historical, and Bexar.org.
Also, Quick Links to Contact BCSO, Magistrate Arrest Search, Jail Activity Reports, Visitation Information, Bail Bond Companies, BCSO’s Most Wanted, Sex Offender Registry, Employment with BCSO, and File a Report Links for Report an Estray Animal, Report Graffiti Issues, Report Gang Disturbances, and Report Traffic Issues.

"The Bexar County District Clerk's Office now posts Civil and Criminal Dockets online. Please use the links below to view the dockets."

Links to HISTORICAL COMMISSION HOME, BEXAR COUNTY, HISTORY, BEXAR COUNTY COURTHOUSE, BEXAR COUNTY IMAGES, HISTORICAL SITES & RESOURCES, BEXAR COUNTY MUSEUMS, LIBRARIES & ARCHIVES, BEXAR COUNTY.

Links to search death records, location of the Medical Examiner's office, history, fee schedule, forms, annual reports, informational links, and bereavement support groups.

Resource links to Probate Courts 1 and 2 and informational links.

Information about the county judge, each of the four precincts, boards and commissions, and government relations.

Resources for County Court Local Rules and Joint Order Revising Fee Schedule - Criminal Court Appointments with links to DISTRICT ATTORNEY, DISTRICT CLERK, DISTRICT COURTS, COUNTY CLERK, COUNTY COURTS, PROBATE COURTS, JUSTICES OF THE PEACE.

"Here you will find:
•featured items for checkout from the library's legal collection
•free, state-specific legal forms
•searchable full-text of hundreds of legal journals and magazines
•links to resources for legal referrals and assistance for low-income clients
•weblinks to legislative and judicial resources at the local, state and federal level."

State of Texas Constitution, Executive, Judicial, Legislative, Legal Guides, General Sources Resources.

Resources about the Republican Party of Bexar, elections, getting involved, the calendar with links to sign up for Texas Legislature Online (TLO), track your Senators and Representative in Washington by Email, 2012 RPT Adopted Platform, and 2012 RPT Rules.

Resources for the Bexar County Democratic Party including elections, news, party organization, getting involved, and the calendar.

"Texas Legal Services Center (TLSC) is a non-profit legal office which provides assistance and training to poverty law advocates and their clients in the areas of litigation support, education and communication. TLSC sponsors projects that assist individuals in Texas and, in some cases, nationwide.
TLSC manages Texas Law Help and Texas Lawyers Help which are statewide web initiatives to increase access to justice. Other primary areas of assistance through TLSC include:
•The Texas Kincare Taskforce
•The South Central Pension Rights Project
•VICARS for Crime Victims
•The Veterans' Legal Assistance Project
•The Facility Victims Program
•The Health Law Program
•The Legal Hotline for Texans
•The Lawyer Referral Service
•The Texas Elder Exploitation Project"

"...serves the Austin/ San Antonio area, El Paso area, and South Texas."

Resources for Attorneys and resources for veterans.

"Clinic Referral Line: 210-431-2596"

A library guide about secondary legal sources, examples, and how to use them.

Texas Rules of Civil Procedure in pdf files:
"I - General Rules, II - Rules of Practice in District & County Courts, V - Rules of Practice in Justice Courts, VI - Rules Relating to Ancillary Proceedings, VII - Rules Relating to Special Proceedings, VIII - Closing Rules
NOTE: Sections III & IV are now repealed. The substance of those former sections is now contained in the Texas Rules of Appellate Procedure."

Texas Rules of Evidence-Article I. General Provisions, Article II. Judicial Notice, Article III. Presumptions, Article IV. Relevancy and Its Limits, Article V. Privileges, Article VI. Witnesses, Article VII. Opinions and Expert Testimony, Article VIII. Hearsay, Article IX. Authentication and Identification, Article X. Contents of Writings, Recording and Photographs.

To view the Code of Criminal Procedure, select it on the Code menu.

Texas Rules of Appellate Procedure-Section 1 - General Provisions, Section 2 - Appeals from Trial Court Judgments and Orders, Section 3 - Original Proceedings in the Supreme Court and the Courts of Appeals, Section 4 - Proceedings in the Supreme Court, Section 5 - Proceedings in the Court of Criminal Appeals, and Appendices

"The statutes available on this website are current through the 1st Called Session of the 82nd Legislature, July 2011. The Texas Constitution is current through the amendments approved by voters in November 2011."

Resources about the Attorney General: About Greg Abbott, News Releases, Publications, About the Agency, Employment, Conferences, ubscriptions, Weekly Columns with links for Child Support, Consumer Protection, Crime Victims, Criminal Justice, Open Government, Opinions, and Senior Texans.

The Website for the Governor of Texas with resources about Governor Perry, the First Lady, News, Initiatives, Organization, the Texas Budget, the Governor's Initiatives, and the Status of the Texas Flag.

The Website for the Texas Secretary of State with resources about the Office, Election
Information, Business Filings, Notary Public & Statutory, State Rules & Open Meetings,
Uniform Commercial Code, and Border & International, a Business Center, and Voter Information.

The Open Government page of the Attorney General's Website with resources for Statutory Requirements, Contact Information, Tips for Writing Briefs, and Divisions of the OAG.

"The Texas Administrative Code (TAC) is a compilation of all state agency rules in Texas. There are 16 titles in the TAC. Each title represents a subject category and related agencies are assigned to the appropriate title."

"The Administrative and Public Law Section is a voluntary organization within the State Bar of Texas and consists of more than 1,000 licensed attorneys throughout Texas who represent clients before, or are employed by, a variety of state and federal agencies, boards and commissions. The Section's members also represent clients in state and federal judicial proceedings in which agency decisions or actions are litigated. The purpose of the Administrative and Public Law Section is to promote and enhance the practice of law by administrative lawyers."

Who can request an attorney general opinion? How to Request An Attorney General Opinion? about the opinion process, and who may participate in it, opinions on this website.

"Texas Courts Online (TCO) is the portal to Texas Judicial pages."

Many resources posted for attorneys to utilize the online classroom, online library, practice manuals from TexasBarBooks, suggestions for CLEs, and law practice management.

Many useful links and resources for practicing attorneys from the State Bar of Texas.

Resources for Tough Times for attorneys from the State Bar of Texas including job Search/Networking, Free Legal Research through Casemaker, Savings, Professional Development, Practice Management, Stress Management, and Solo and Small Firm Resources.

The homepage for the State Bar of Texas Website with a multitude of resources for attorneys and the public.

The Webpage for resources for the public from the State Bar of Texas including links to find a lawyer, disputes with lawyers, free legal information, resources for teachers, and disaster relief resources.

Trial Court Activity Reports Database, Model Forms, Self-Help Legal Forms and Information, links to Publications, Judges' Manuals, Clerk Manuals and Handbooks, Filing Fees and Court Costs, Court Coordinator Information, Domestic Violence Information, and Interpreter Information.