© OLLU, 2022. All rights reserved.
Sueltenfuss Library
411 SW 24th St.
San Antonio, TX 78207
1-800-846-4085
library@ollusa.edu
411 SW 24th St.
San Antonio, TX 78207
1-800-846-4085
library@ollusa.edu
The library has lots of different types of resources available both in print and electronically. Here's a quick breakdown of the most common resources found in the library, and for more information on how to find each resource, please check out the links to the left.
| Resource | Description | Example |
|---|---|---|
| Research Starter | A detailed guide that includes information on library resources for a particular subject or course | Education Research Starter |
| Books and eBooks | A written text that can be published in printed or electronic form(eBook) |
Moby Dick (print book) & Moby Dick (eBook) |
| Databases | A searchable collection of articles from hundreds or thousands of scholarly journals and other sources. Libraries typically pay a licensing fee to publishers (such as Ebsco) in order to give library users access to search for and download articles from a database. | Academic Search Complete |
| Journals | A collection of articles in a particular subject area published on a regular schedule, often 4 times a year. Similar to a magazine except that the articles are often scholarly, peer-reviewed and are read by researchers in the field. A journal can be published in print or online. | Journal of Experimental Social Psychology |
| Journal Article | A scholarly paper written by an expert in the field and often peer-reviewed by other experts before publication. Articles may contain original research findings and are usually published in scholarly journals. The article will contain a list of references or citations at the end. | Psychology or psychological science?: A survey of graduate psychology faculty regarding program names. |
| Thesis/Dissertation | Dissertations and theses are scholarly works written in support of an academic degree (typically masters or doctorate). It often contains the author's original research. | Coming of age and becoming American: Adolescents learning English and the rules of citizenship |
| Data & Statistics | Datasets, statistical abstracts, and other statistical information | U.S. Government's Open Datasets on Higher Education |
| Tests and Measures | Standardized measures of a particular variable. Can take a variety of forms, including verbal, written, or visual. | Questionnaire on Metacognition |
| Open Educational Resources (OER) | Any resources available at little or no cost that can be used for teaching, learning, or research. This can include textbooks, course readings, and other learning content; simulations, games, and other learning applications; syllabi, quizzes, and assessment tools; and virtually any other material that can be used for educational purposes. | Open Textbook Library |
| ONE SEARCH |
© OLLU, 2022. All rights reserved.