Spanish Research Starter

Pruebas Publicadas en Español consists of descriptive listings of commercially published tests that are available in part or wholly in Spanish. It builds on the established traditions of the Buros Center for Testing and its long-standing publication series: The Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print. Pruebas Publicadas en Español represents an initial effort to compile and describe available Spanish measures. In effect, it is a Spanish adaptation of Tests in Print that provides extensive and vital information about tests published in the Spanish language. Its content acquaints test users with available measures and facilitates appropriate selection of tests. Pruebas Publicadas en Español contains 422 test entries. The in-print status of these tests was confirmed by direct correspondence with publishers and procurement of actual test materials. The organization of the volume is encyclopedic, with tests ordered alphabetically by title. For each test entry, information is presented in Spanish and English, with the left-hand column showing descriptive information in Spanish and the right-hand column showing the same information in English. Clic aquí para español. Purchase the Digital Edition.

Hispanics today make up 15% of the US population, with close to 45 million in numbers. Hispanic presence in public office is increasingly prominent, and specialists forecast an even more promising future for this growing minority: by the year 2050, Hispanics will have surpassed the 130 million mark, transforming the US into the largest Spanish-speaking country in the world. The Encyclopedia of Spanish in the US offers detailed analyses of the past, present, and future of Spanish and Hispanic culture in the US, highlighting the demolinguistic reality of the diverse Spanish-speaking groups living in the US. Attention is also drawn to the vast cultural wealth of the Hispanic community, which has driven artistic creations that today hold a preeminent position in the country’s cultural landscape. Its 80+ specialized articles cover historical, demographic and legal aspects that, among others, provide information on the teaching, translating, editing, mass media, linguistic analyses, cultural activities, and literary production of this rising minority. This comprehensive outlook on the role that the Hispanic community plays in the US reveals the keys to understanding the present and promoting the future of our language and culture in this country. This never-before published outline includes over 170 photographs, and more than 190 maps, graphs and tables.

The Oxford Spanish Dictionary comes with the ultimate pronunciation guide: a FREE, state-of-the-art CD-ROM (UK and Europe only) that enables you to type in a word or phrase, or paste in text from the web, and hear it spoken back to you in perfect Spanish.Now in colour, with an ultra-clear layout for maximum accessibility, this major new edition provides the richest coverage of Spanish from around the world, covering over 300,000 words and phrases, and more than 500,000 translations. Oxford's expert teams of lexicographers have used the latest technology to search millions of words of web-based text and identify all the most recent additions to both Spanish and English. Over 20,000 new entries have been added to the dictionary from all aspects of life today - business, IT,science, the media, the environment, the internet, and social life. Hundreds of special entries now give information on life and culture in the Spanish-speaking world, and in-text notes give extra help with grammar and usage. The dictionary also includes an extended guide to effectivecommunication, including a wealth of example letters, offering help with a wide range of topics, from writing a job application or a CV to booking a hotel room. With a new, easy-access colour design to make consultation even quicker, this is the most complete and up-to-date reference tool foranyone studying Spanish in senior school or at university, or for translators and other language professionals. This title replaces ISBN 0-19-860367-3. It is also available on CD-ROM with full text search and innovative Spanish pronunciation functionality.