Overview: What's New in APA 7th edition
New in Paper Formatting
New in In-Text Citations
APA has simplified in-text citations in regards to multiple authors. If there is one or two authors, list their names:
(Smith, 2019); (Smith & Jones, 2019)
For three or more authors, list only the first author's name and then et al.
(Smith et al., 2019)
New in Formatting of Author Names
In the opposite direction, APA now requires listing up to 20 authors for a source in the references list. This is a change from 8 in the 6th edition. For works with more than 20 authors, list the first 19, insert an ellipsis point, and then list the last author's name.
Smith, J., Jones, B. E., Brown, K. E., Doe, J., Chan, L., Garcia, S. M., White, C-G., Fernández, J., Ahmed, A. J., Zhào, L., Cohen, D., Watanabe, R., Kim, K., Del Rosario, J., Yilmaz, P. K., Nguyễn, T., Wilson, T. H., Wang, W., Kahale, A. ... Zhang, Z. Z. (Date). Title. Source.
New in Citations: Books
For books, no longer list the publication location.
George, M. W. (2008). The elements of library research: What every student needs to know. Princeton University Press.
If a book has a DOI assigned to it, add it to the end of the reference.
Samanez-Larkin, G. R. (Ed.). (2019). The aging brain: Functional adaptation across adulthood. American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000143-000
eBooks should be cited exactly as print books. Do not include a database.
Keating, D. P. (Ed.). (2010). Nature and nurture in early child development. Cambridge University Press.
Sacred texts should now be included in the references list (the 6th edition only required an in-text citation).
The Bhagavad Gita. (E. Easwaran, Trans.; 2nd ed.). (2007). The Blue Mountain Center of Meditation.
King James Bible. (2017). King James Bible Online. https://www.kingjamesbibleonline.org/ (Original work published 1769)
New in Citations: Journal Articles
Always include the issue number. Previously if the issues were paginated continuously you did not need to include it. The formatting of the DOI should now follow the format https://doi.org/XXXXXX
Zhao, W., Garcia-Oscos, F., Dinh, D., & Roberts, T. F. (2019). Inception of memories that guide vocal learning in the songbird. Science, 366(6461), 83–89. https://doi.org/10.1126/science.aaw4226
If a journal article does not have a DOI, you may end the citation after the page numbers. There is no longer a requirement to include the URL of the journal's homepage. However, if an article is open access, you may choose to link directly to the article's full text.
Kerlis, B. (2013). Sacred spaces in virtual places: Locating religion in the financial market. Journal for the Study of Religion, 26(1), 23–44. http://www.scielo.org.za/pdf/jsr/v26n1/03.pdf
If an article has an article number, use that in place of the page numbers
Derry, K. (2018). Myth and monstrosity: Teaching indigenous films. Journal of Religion & Film, 22(3), Article 7. https://digitalcommons.unomaha.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=2013&context=jrf
You may use a shortened DOI if desired.
Grasset, L., Glymour, M. M., Elfassy, T., Swift, S. L., Yaffe, K., Singh-Manoux, A., & Al Hazzouri, A. Z. (2019). Relation between 20-year income volatility and brain health in midlife: The CARDIA study. Neurology. http://doi.org/dchq
New in Magazine or Newspaper Articles
Include a URL if it will take the reader to the full text without logging in. The article title is formatted regularly and the newspaper or magazine title is italicized.
Gibson, J. (2019, October 9). SF College zoo works to become more inclusive. The Gainesville Sun. https://www.gainesville.com/news/20191009/sf-college-zoo-works
If a magazine or news site does not have an associated daily/weekly publication, use the guidelines for a webpage. Examples include CNN and the Huffington Post.
New in Database Content
If a library database contains its own, proprietary information that cannot be retrieved elsewhere (like Cochrane, A to Z the World, and CQ Researcher), include the name of the database and a permalink in the reference.
Ornes, S. (2019, September 20). Extreme weather. CQ Researcher. http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/cqresrre201909200
New in Webpages
Omit the words 'Retrieved from' before the URL. Include the name of the website unless it is the same as the author. Italicize the name of the webpage.
Corcodilos, N. (n.d.). Keep your salary under wraps. Ask the Headhunter. http://www.asktheheadhunter.com/hasalary.htm
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (2010, February 1). Facing down PTSD, vet is now soaring high. http://www.mentalhealth.va.gov/featureArticle_Feb.asp
You may use a URL shortener like tinyurl or bit.ly if you wish.
Our Lady of the Lake University. (n.d.). Program of study. http://bit.l/3141NHN
New in Class Materials
APA now clarifies that if the audience for the paper being written can access materials that may be in an LMS or intranet, these can be included in the references list. Previously, these were considered non-retrievable sources and were to be cited as personal communication.
Matthews, D. (2019). [Lecture notes on evaluating Internet resources]. Blackboard at OLLU. https://courses.ollusa.edu/login
New in Annotated Bibliographies
APA now has guidelines for an annotated bibliography. Annotations will be a new paragraph, indented 0.5" from the left.